Get Your Ohm On!

Ohm:-ing Up to It
Former Megadeth guitarist Chris Poland’s current project offers prog that’s hard to resist

By GABRIEL SAN ROMAN

Chris Poland’s unique playing style is often credited to a hand injury sustained during a school-yard prank. After having his books knocked to the floor, Poland gave chase to the opportunistic offender. The pursuit ended when a door slammed on Poland’s hand, causing him to lose the tendon in his pointer finger as well as all feeling in his pinky.

“A lot of people say the reason I play in the style I do is because of my hand injury because I can’t bend my pointer finger,” the guitarist, currently of the progressive-jazz-metal fusion band Ohm:, notes. “I told somebody I wanted to get my finger fixed because I’ll play better if I can bend my finger!”

To read the rest of my latest article for the Orange County Weekly, visit:

http://www.ocweekly.com/2009-02-05/music/chris-poland-ohm/

Leave a Reply

