Folk You, I Won’t Do What You Tell Me!

{The Folking Nightwatchman as the Black Woody Guthrie}

On an otherwise lazy Saturday morning a few weeks back, I got a call from Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman’s people saying how Tom would like to do the interview I requested for the OC Weekly right then and there. With Tom coming through town and with a new album “The Fabled City,” to profile, I had barely asked for the interview the day before and didn’t expect to have anything arranged until the following week. Getting the now-or-never vibe from Tom’s tour manager, I accordingly got my shit together and headed over to my workplace as soon as I could to tape the phoner for precise quotes.

After weaving through LA’s impossible traffic I made it at the precise time I said I would. As I waited to make a left turn I got a call from Tom himself asking me if I was ready to go. I pleaded for just five more minutes. After parking, I took a quick dash up the stairs and was ready to go toe-to-toe with the guitarist I can never out-solo on Guitar Hero:

Here’s the results of my mad dash:

http://www.ocweekly.com/2008-12-11/music/tom-morello-nightwatchman/

Here’s an old interview w/ Tom that I did with my co-worker about his first release “One Man Revolution”

http://www.zmag.org/znet/viewArticle/15541

Leave a Reply

