November 4th, 2008

So I just returned from casting my vote on this historic election. I took advantage of one and a half of two hours my workplace granted me in order to go home and carry out my civic duty. With the constant echo chamber of long lines, I feared I may have needed all of the hours off early I was due. However, my tiny little precinct polling place was no more busy than it had been in elections past. In fact, I didn’t wait in line at all. When I arrived, no one was voting in the five available booths so I just walked in, cast my vote for President, local races and state propositions and booked it in about five minutes! I spent a longer time waiting in line to cash my check at the bank right after voting! I know this isn’t the case for many who have to endure hours in line to do what I did in just minutes time. It isn’t fair and shouldn’t be happening, so my props definitely go out to those of you who tough it out today.

Now, with my ballot cast, I am now just waiting like everyone else to see the results of this most drawn out and expensive election in U.S. History. I am not of the opinion that since Obama has been projected with leads consistently in recent polls, he will inevitably make history as the first African-American president on a landslide victory. No, I have learned too much from 2000 and 2004 to be of such confidence. His race also amplifies the objective of disenfranchising the considerable number of new African-American voters turning out today. That coupled with the “Bradley Effect,” and slim leads in a number of swing states give me unease. This apprehension is new to me though, however. While people staked their hopes in “Anybody But Bush,” in 2004, I was well resigned to the fact that Bush would take the election. The existence of my unease is telling insofar as it points to the fact that I believe somewhere deep down that Obama can pull this election out tonight. The state by state polls seems to indicate a pending victory for the Democratic candidate based upon the number of electoral college votes needed.

Rest assured, history will be made today. Will it be a milestone for African-America? Or will it be yet another episode of dashed enthusiasms and stolen dreams in yet another chapter of the terribly long novel of injustice wrought against it. Time, as the accomplice of history, will tell…

2 responses to “November 4th, 2008

  1. it’s awesome that there has been this “problem” of long lines all over… people taking a greater interest in public issues is always a good thing

  2. people taking greater interest – i.e. increased voter turnout is not a problem and a good thing.

    long lines, especially in the 2004 election, were disproportionately in black neighborhoods, is a problem

    inefficiencies in conducting elections…that’s room for improvement

Leave a Reply

